Opera Has Gone Stupid

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bribie G

Adjunct Professor
Reaction score
I've been using Opera for a couple of years and have loved it, but it's recently started to go stupid after its last update.
It seems to run very slowly, and for most sites - including AHB - it brings up this type of screen for a couple of seconds before clicking into a page:

browser_window_1.JPG
browser_window_2.JPG

Then instead of just displaying the content it peppers the screen with those stupid arrows "click to download plug in"

browser_window_3.JPG

I don't recall specifying this, and Firefox doesn't do that at all. Also notice how FF displays more content on the same page.

Opera even puts the arrows into stuff like Yahoo Mail

browser_window_4.JPG

I haven't changed any settings, I might go back to FF although I love the Opera speed dial screen :angry:

Any idea what the plug-in is? If it is something legit then update it, otherwise upgrade your security programs.

Give Chrome a try ... it has a few nice features that make it my preferred browser now.

I've gone back to Firefox, the new edition is great. For example the new Opera version takes 5 seconds to load AHB forum, Firefox takes 2 seconds without bringing up that annoying "file tree" page first. I think Opera has tipped over the edge into being bloatware - sad really. Another infuriating thing is that it no longer has a window up top giving you the URL you are currently at - and yes I have tried all the available tool bars - so I can no longer cut and paste a URL into a link in a post here, for example my favourite goat cam.

Vale Opera, once a good browser but they've decided to dumb it right down into a one-click-fits-all browser for old ladies.