Noob Filter Question

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjcampbell

Reaction score
Although I am a newbie to the forum, I have been kit brewing for close to 20 years. I have just upgraded to kegs, and thought I would try filtering.

I have a filter I picked up on EBay (one of these). I aim to try it to filter from fermenter to keg. The filter element is one micron.

I have tried to use it a couple of times just filtering a fermenter full of water (cause I want to get it right before I try it on real beer!)

The inlet is 10mm Vinyl tubing from the green shed. The fermenter end is inserted into the tap and the inlet hose tail of the filter. On the outlet side the 10mm hose is connected on to the hose tail on the filter, with 10mm tubing going to the bottom of the keg.

I have the fermenter on a kitchen bench with the corny keg on the floor and the filter sitting on top of the keg.

Problem: On just plain water, the unit filter approximately one litre per 5 minutes, so I would imaging beer would be slower due to build up on the filter. The vinyl tubing does have flattened sections which restrict flow, but I can't seem to get them out.

Questions:

Should I be using a better tubing than Green shed vinyl so that it minimises restrictions? Which one?
What flow rate should I expect under gravity?
What other questions should I ask? :)

Cheers
Stee

My filter uses beer line - however your unit appears to need larger diameter tubing. As such have you tried some reinforced tubing that wont collapse?

I can gravity from fermentor to keg via my filter in around 20-30 mins.

My filter uses beer line - however your unit appears to need larger diameter tubing. As such have you tried some reinforced tubing that wont collapse?

I can gravity from fermentor to keg via my filter in around 20-30 mins.

Raven19,