New to home brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shotgun07

Reaction score
Hi peeps,

I’m new to all of this where is a good place to start equipment wise, ideally I want to brew things like Hazy IPA. Is a home brew kit or individual bits better ?? Any advice would be helpful

Hello and welcome to the forum. Enjoy!

Welcome to AHB
a good coopers kit to start you off equipment wise , it will have everything to get you started
then Build your equipment up from there as you advance .
also remember be thorough with your cleaning and sanitization
also get John Palmers "How To Brew" this book is like a bible of brewing it will take you from extract brewing to All grain brewing

I'm a bit biased as I wanted to get to all grain brewing as quickly as possible so I did one kit, a handful of extract brews then brew in a bag with grain. There is a lot of discussion out there around the relative merits of kit beers vs extract vs all grain but the general consensus is that that the quality of end product increases in that order on average. If you just want to do kit beers a starter pack from a number of online stores will get you going.

For me - I spent a lot of money in the long run trying to save money early on when I wasn't sure if this was a hobby I was going to carry on doing. It's a bit of a catch 22, you don't want to spend too much if you drop the hobby, but there are a bunch of things that make life much easier with a bit more money down up front. So if you do want to go the all grain route (and if I was to start it all over again) I would probably recommend an all in one like a robobrew for $450.

$450 seems like a lot but in context to do it with individual pieces of equipment:
50L pot - $100