New to brewing - Am I understanding the sparge volume correctley?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mister clark

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here hoping for some hand holding/reassurance!!! :)

I've been looking at recipes on beersmith and decided I would like to brew this DIPA for my first attempt:

http://beersmithrecipes.com/viewrecipe/17432/citra-double-ipa-clone-kern-river-brewing-company-cybi-podcast-version

So, I've selected my equipment profile (20L Braumeister) but I'm a bit concerned with the sparge water volume and I'm worried I've messed something up.

Beersmith is telling me to use 19 liters of sparge water - from reading I've done that sounds like a hell of a lot - does that sound right?

The recipe is calls for approximately 7.50KG of grain.

Many thanks in advance!

On the phone so can't link but you need to have a good read of the dedicated braumeister guide thread in gear and equipment. But straight up 20L BM won't do 7.5 kg of grain without a lot of buggering around. Your probably biting at the bit to knock out some awesome beers. You will but ease up on pushing the limits till you get used to the routine of using the machine first
MB

Id start with a tried and true recipe like the Dr Smurtos Golden ale or Little Creatures Bright Ale Clone in the recipe database before jumping into a DIPA for your first attempt. You are just going to waste a lot of hops and malt trying to attempt a high alcohol beer like that for the first attempt. Im sorry but you are much more likely to brew a great tasting beer by trying one of the recipes I suggested above.