Am I reading recipes correctly?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jacskon

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am trying to emulate this recipe: Very Pale Ale - BIAB American Pale Ale Homebrew Beer Recipe - Brewer's Friend

I'm a total newbie so struggling to translate into actionable instructions. Also, given I've only got a 20L pot, I'm making a few modifications.

Is the below correct? I've bolded a few things I am unsure about.
  1. Put all grains in brew bag
  2. Bring 15L in a pot to 65 degrees celsius
  3. Add in brew bag with grains for 60 minutes
  4. Remove grains
  5. Boil for 60 minutes
  6. With 15 minutes to go, add 10g of Centennial hops
  7. With 5 minutes to go, add 12g of centennial hops, 12g of Citra hops and 14g of amarillo hops
  8. Strain to fermentor
  9. Add additional water to get it to 12L
  10. Stir well
  11. Dry hop 11g of Centennial, 10g of Citra and 11g of Amarillo for 4 days then remove the bags
Going from 15L to 12L seems like a big drop?

Cheers,

Jackson

I boil off around 4.5L per hour in my Guten, so 3L is not a huge drop in my opinion. Also, the grain will absorb roughly 1L per KG of grain, so 15L of water + 3kg of Grain will reduce to around 12L before you boil. Then you boil it for an hour you will end up with around 9ish liters. I would

Add grain bag to pot, and drape around it so you can pour your grains in directly
Bring 15L to strike temp (higher than 65, as adding the grains will reduce the temp)
Pour grains into the bag, so you can give them a good mix / stir to eliminate dough balls (dry balls that haven't been wet by the water)
Insulate the pot as best you can, using a lid and towels etc to maintain as much heat as possible
Let mash for 60 minutes
Remove bag, and give a good squeeze
Add 3L of water to the liquid, should bring you back to 15L pre boil