Moving hops from a pot to the ground

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Straya

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to growing hops and just wanted to know if for a while I were to plant my rhizomes in large pots. At a later date say in 12 months would I be able to transfer them to the ground when they're a bit more established so I can allow myself 6-12 months to properly set up a good area for them?

Cheers

Sure can mate. You will probably get a small yield of flowers this coming summer from the pot. Then around this time next year transfer them to the ground

I have grown in pots for the last two years. I would strongly recommend you plant in the ground as soon as possible. The rhyzome will grow enthusiastically and the pots will ultimately slow that down.
If you intend to stay in pots, get the biggest one you can (wine barrels are my suggestion), fill it with quality soil. Fertilise regularly during growing season.

Hi Straya,

If you have a lot of rhizomes just put 6 to 8 in one hole and then next year dig them up and move them around if you want to put them somewhere else. There is nothing to stop you getting a good yield this year if you are growing Victoria and Cascade - the two highest yielding varieties.

It doesn't matter if you have them in pots or the ground, you will still need a trellis for them. Planting them in pots creates a lot more work because you need to fill the pots with soil etc.

Make sure you give them plenty of water.