Morgans Caramalt

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick JD

Blah Blah Blah
Reaction score
G'day, newbie here chiming in and wishing I'd found this forum earlier...

I've been brewing K&K for twenty years and reading all your wisdom, finally got brave enough to "make one up" with extracts and hops.

1.5 kg Coopers Light Malt
500g Dry Light Malt
1 kg Morgans Caramalt
Teabag of Cascade Hops
Saflager yeast

...best beer I've ever made. That Caramalt is probably why. Now I have to learn more about hops.

Again, brilliant forum. Cheers,

Nick.

Sounds like you've got some great flavours in there... however, how did you get any bitterness without boiling any hops?

Or did you boil the teabag? In which case did you have much flavour an aroma?

What sort of flavours did you find the caramalt to give?

Oh, and a very BIG welcome to the forum! :beer: :D

Hi Nick,

I assume that's 1.5kg of Coopers kit can of some sort.

At first you get the thought "why add sugar to give alcohol when you can add malt and get flavour AND alcohol"

Next you have the thought "why add plain malt for flavour when you can add flavoured malt and get more flavour "

I'm now trying to take plain malt OUT of my concoctions and use these Morgans flavoured malts 100%.

Makes really good beer, but not cheap.

Making up your own recipes is no problem, as long as you put good ingredients in you should always get good beer out, assuming good clean equipment and so on.

You are on the way to the dark side now, have fun and aim to make the best beer you can.

Sounds like you've got some great flavours in there... however, how did you get any bitterness without boiling any hops?

Or did you boil the teabag? In which case did you have much flavour an aroma?

What sort of flavours did you find the caramalt to give?