Mash Temps

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tintin

Reaction score
I'm sure this has been done to death, but how does beer character vary with mash temperature, low end (64-65 deg C) to high end (69 deg C). And do some styles demand a particular temp.
Also, I noticed when I let loose my strike water into my esky tun (with the grain), the water loses at least 6 deg immediately, and I have to top it up with more hot water to get it to the required temp. Should I be heating the strike water to maybe 74 C if I want the mash temp to be 67-68 C? I should say that as a novice, my esky is quite small and only has the capacity for 2.5kg grain and the resulting strike water (~6-7 litres).
Thanks for any advice.

Tintin