Leaking Fermenter Spigot - Help Required!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimC

Reaction score
Hi all!

1st post and it's a doosey. I'm a newbie whose just filled his fermenter with amber ale only to discover a slow drip leaking from where the spigot screws screws into the fermenter.
Is there anything i can do to save this batch? It worked perfectly on my last brew, and I didnt notice any leaks when I was sanatizing it earlier in the day.

All i've tried so far is gently tilting the fermenter back and unscrewing the spigot then rescrewing it to make sure its on the thread properly. i lost a bit of ale and surely risked contamination, but i'm kind of panicing!

Any help would be greatly appreciated since my LHBS is closed on Sundays!!!

Cheers & Beers

yep, unfortunately the yeast is in there. I noticed it the leak about 10 mins after that.

It's currently dripping into a bucket while I await replies on various internet forums!!

You did put the washer back on the tap thread?

Edityou could go to local hardware get new tap with thread tape on it.

if you mean the black rubber ring thats meant to seal it, then yes it's on there. is there meant to be another washer?

Its only my second brew, so I'm still getting to know all the equipment.

if you mean the black rubber ring thats meant to seal it, then yes it's on there. is there meant to be another washer?

Its only my second brew, so I'm still getting to know all the equipment.

Only one washer. The tap does not have to have the spout pointing down, so it is ok to over tighten slightly.

If you are desperate, you could try pushing some fresh out of the pack blutack or plasticine around the outside of the tap.
Just a thought.
Cheers, John.

You did put the washer back on the tap thread?