Lager yeast

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradgc

Reaction score
Hey,
I'm new to brewing and the forum.

My latest brew has a lager yeast but my brew room stays at a constant 22°c
Would there be any negative effects from using lager yeast at this temp?

Brew cellar premium European lager yeast

Don't do it.
Lager yeast at 22ºC will not give you good results. Believe me, my first brew years ago was done that way, and it was horrible, and never to be repeated.
Unless you can keep the temperature somewhere in the 9 to 12ºC range, you are better off sticking with an ale yeast such as Nottingham or US05 and trying for a faux lager. Even then, at 22ºC it is questionable you will achieve the result you are after.
I'd stick to brewing ales until you are able to achieve temperature control in a brew fridge.

There is a fair to middling chance that the yeast you have been supplied is actually an ale yeast that will give lager-like results. You will never know what they have supplied but, you do have to assume that if they say ferment at 22C, they are probably right and that is the best temperature for that particular (unknown) yeast supplied. They are selling a product that would have been well tested and obviously want to sell more so it has to be successful.

IF on-the-other-hand, you do want to brew a true lager like beer, throw the yeast away and get a true lager yeast and ferment at the yeast manufacturer's recommended temperature, usually around 12C.

However, having said all that, lagers from kits don't really work out very well and are well in the realm of all-grain brewing. Anyhow, good luck you will make drinkable beer but probably not what you had in mind.

Thanks labels.