L_bomb's Herms Build

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerbrewer76543

Reaction score
Good day Squires,

I thought I would share some photos and details of the HERMS system I am currently building

This system is a result of wanting to brew all grain beers but introduce a high level of control and automate part of the process as well. I have been acquiring the parts slowly for the last 12 months or so and am finally getting around to putting it all together

Unlike a few brewers here, my build has very little bling bling as it is my first AG rig and want it to be more flexible than fashionable until I get the process sorted. Then I'm sure the bug will bite hard and my wallet will be lightened considerably!

Anyway, here is a pic of the rig to date. The frame is slotted angle which I scored for free and has proved invaluable in making changes to the deisgn quick and easy (with the use of a cordless drill and 12mm socket). From left to right we have the HLT, MLT and Kettle at 50L, 50L and 80L respectively. The HLT already has a 2kW element and mechanical thermostat installed. Below is the heat exchanger and March pump. If you look close you can see the 5 ball valves dummy fitted in position. Hopefully mopunting them inline will make it easy to operate and avoid brewday mishaps.

10072010036.jpg

Below is the heat exchanger. It consists of a 7.6L stockpot, two 3m lengths of coiled annealed 1/2 inch copper tube and a $9 kettle element that is yet to be fitted
10072010034.jpg

This last photo is of the base plate and hopper I quickly knocked up over the weekend for my new Crank and Stein mill (which I used my the partial I brewed on Sunday). It takes a fair bit of torque to turn when full but the drill is handling the job for now
11072010039.jpg

Items to be procured:
1x Auberins PID with ramp/soak feature