Kettle Too Small?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snorbz

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I've been brewing for 2 months now, making kit + Liquid malt brews. but i'm seeking a more bitter (and maybe stronger) beer, and believe that a "partial" + malt brew is the way to go.

I measured the kettle intend to use, and it holds 7L allowing for an 2cm around the top.

If i add more water to the fermenter, and less to the wort will it still work? or will i need a larger kettle before i try this?

I'd appreciate your help on this one..

Cheers

Cam

Hey Guys,

I've been brewing for 2 months now, making kit + Liquid malt brews. but i'm seeking a more bitter (and maybe stronger) beer, and believe that a "partial" + malt brew is the way to go.

I measured the kettle intend to use, and it holds 7L allowing for an 2cm around the top.

If i add more water to the fermenter, and less to the wort will it still work? or will i need a larger kettle before i try this?

I'd appreciate your help on this one..

Cheers

Cam

Yep - you base your malts, grains and hops on the final volume, so you can do a smaller and stronger boil, which will then be diluted with the top up water when you add it all to the fermentor. Same principle as a kit can really.

just make sure you leave some headroom for the boil - otherwise you will have a hell of a mess to clean up. It would be worth getting a cheap bigger pot so you can do slightly bigger boils and also have soem room for the boil to breath.

Brendo

Cam welcome aboard firstly.

Maybe you could provide a bit more info on types of beers you intend making - i.e. hop additions, boiling batch sizes, any grains/steeping, etc.

Initially my thoughts are:
1. You can do split boils if need be for larger batches.