kegging in a corny

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pump21

Reaction score
Morning all. Its my first time kegging into a corny. Does anyone know how long after kegging it will be ready to gas up and drink or is it straight away. I asked my local home brew shop and there was a young girl in there im guessing the owners daughter but she didnt really have any idea. Ive had it fermenting for 2 weeks and i am looking at kegging over the weekend.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Cheers

I usually keg, gas and drink it on the same day
Then leave it for a week or 2 to age

If it's finished fermenting (gravity stable over 2/3 days and close to expectations), a lot of beer can be kegged and hooked up to the gas straight away, but it'll take a week or so to carb up. That said, most beers are better with a little conditioning and/or clearing either in the fermentor or in the keg. The advantage of doing it in the fermentor is that a lot of the yeast and other particles that will drop out, drop out in the fermentor, not the keg.

Generally, I wait a week or two post fermentation to keg, and a week after that it's usually ready. That's for most normal gravity ales.

It really depends on when you need to drink it. If it's urgent I will transfer beer into the keg, carbonate using the Ross method and then be drinking it about 15 minutes later. If you have a week or two you can attach it to the gas at serving pressure. In my experience the beer clears up a lot after 2-3 weeks in the keg and flavours change and develop as well.

One thing I would add is that if you want to carbonate quickly the beer needs to be cold, around 3C seems to work well for me.

You can connect the gas straight away.

Couple of tips:
Purge the headspace with CO2 to remove any oxygen (turn gas on with PRV open).