How To Make Coopers Stout Really Strong / High In Alcohol Content?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shaunms

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I am new to HomeBrewing and I recently bought the Coopers MicroBrewing Kit.

I have recently moved to Australia from Ireland and I am a real lover of strong stout.

I would like to know if anyone has experience in pimping up the Coopers Stout kit to give in an alcohol content of between 7 to 9%?

I thought about mixing Coopers Stout with 2kg Coopers Brew Enhancer 2 but I am not sure of the effect it will have on the beer?

It would also be a bonus if I could make it taste as close to Guinness as possible.

I also thought of adding a couple of spoons of instant coffee to give the Stout a fuller coffee aroma and flavour.

Am I nuts? Am I expecting to much? or do you think its worth giving it a try?

Looking forward to getting some good advice.

2 cans of Coopers Stout
1kg light dried malt extract
1kg dextrose

Nottingham ale yeast

Light blue touch paper and retire to a safe distance. :icon_cheers:

Edit: this is known as a Toucan on the forum, quite a well tried and tested field of brewing. Hic.

Hi Guys

I am new to HomeBrewing and I recently bought the Coopers MicroBrewing Kit.

I have recently moved to Australia from Ireland and I am a real lover of strong stout.

I would like to know if anyone has experience in pimping up the Coopers Stout kit to give in an alcohol content of between 7 to 9%?

I thought about mixing Coopers Stout with 2kg Coopers Brew Enhancer 2 but I am not sure of the effect it will have on the beer?

It would also be a bonus if I could make it taste as close to Guinness as possible.

I also thought of adding a couple of spoons of instant coffee to give the Stout a fuller coffee aroma and flavour.