How To Become A Brewer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jason

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm at a bit of a cross-road with my career. I have been working as a Laboratory scientist for a couple of years but find the work quite boring. I therefore recently started looking at other career options that I could use my university degree (BSc in Microbiology). I thought why not try and make my hobby into my job and become a brewer. I am by no means an expert in beer (styles, manufacture etc) but I have had a number of years of experience in making my own homebrew (extract and all grain brewing). So I do know some general brewing concepts. My question is does anyone know how you become a brewer, who do you have to know to get a start?

Any help will be much appreciated
J

Apparently you need a march pump.......

As I have read in numerous posts "YOURE NOT A REAL BREWER UNTIL YOU GET A MARCH PUMP"

So if you get a march pump you are half way there.... :p :p

I think that's right.
Whenever I start working out the logistics of AG I always end up at "but I'd need a march pump!".

Jason,

One word "Passion" that is what being a brewer is all about, if you have passion you will get a long way in this industry, when its 2am and you are stuck at work because of a break down or its 5am and you are mashing in the first of 5 mashes for the day, passion is the one thing that keeps you going, because brewing its production based work you can not just walk out the door at the end of shift and things can go wrong and this can make for long days. Oh and the ability to have a laugh when it all goes horribly, horribly wrong.