Horehound soft drink

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shane P

Reaction score
I am just wondering if anyone out there has found a recipe and made anything that tastes like the Horehound that used to be made in Bundy many years ago. I grew up in Bundy and loved the stuff. It had a wonderful and unique flavour and it's a damn shame that they can't be bothered making it anymore. I'm an absolute noobie to brewing so please don't get too technical.

I have a whole bunch of dried horehound sitting right behind me in the study! It's not a favourite weed of the government or farmers - it sticks in the coats of cattle and sheep and spreads all over the place. But it does have a long long brewing history. it has a strong bitterness and an interesting mintiness (it's from the mint family) that has great potential for use in brews. It'll be going to seed at the moment but you should be able to find it and pick it before it goes dormant for winter. Search the net for images. Alternatively some naturopaths and herbalists and organic stores might stock it.

I've got bottles of a light horehound ale here but I don't think I've got the balance right - in spite of using below-recommended quantities for my brew the horehound bitterness came right through. Next time I'd use even less and probably try and balance it out with some other mints; or maybe use another spice to settle the brew - ginger, maybe? I'll dig up my recipe and quantities and have a look.