Hi All!

dsclark

Hello All!!

So happy to have stumbled across this group.

I'm completely new to the joys of home brewing and have only completed 1 brew.

I do fly in fly out 24 on 18 days off roster, so my aim is to get a brew down every time I get home.

For my 2nd brew I'm attempting a partial mash American IPA. Cant wait!!

So much knowledge and advice on here which is great because I'm a complete noob!!

Any other FIFO brewers on here??

Daniel

Hi Daniel, and welcome to AHB :beerbang: .
Finding time for brewing is one of life's little challenges I reckon. Heck, I'm retired, but with all the other things to do on a farm, it's tough even for me to make time, even without "work" interrupting all the time! (Olive trees are VERY demanding little blighters...)

But an 18 day stretch should be ideal - 10 to 14 days in the FV is a handy time-scale to work on. As you've inferred, 24+ days might just be too long to leave a brew sitting before bottling/kegging.

Enjoy your new hobby, and as they say, home-brewing can be a VERY slippery slope. :p

G'day Daniel, welcome to AHB.
I think there's a few FIFO Brewers here.
Planning a partial mash for your second brew, good work mate. You'll love it.

Hi dsclark, welcome also. If you wanted to get ahead with your brewing stock you do a brew as you are now and one just before you leave as 18 to 20 days in the fermenter is not a major concern (IMO) if cleanliness, sanitisation and temperature control are up to scratch.

Benn said:
G'day Daniel, welcome to AHB.
I think there's a few FIFO Brewers here.
Planning a partial mash for your second brew, good work mate. You'll love it.
Im planning to use

250g Caramunich
1kg Light Dried Malt
1 Pouch of Mangrove Jacks American Pale Ale
Amarillo hops for the boil
Safale US-05 yeast
Dry hop with Mosiac & Chinook

Does this sound ok? I was thinking of also adding 100g of dextrose.

Consider grabbing yourself an Inkbird ITC-310 (no affiliation). It's programmable, so you could hook it up to a fridge, store your fermenter in said fridge, and set it to 7 days @ 18C, then 3 days @ 21C for D-rest, then 2C for however long til you get home. You'll come home to fermented, d-rested, cold crashed beer :beerbang:

mtb said:
Consider grabbing yourself an Inkbird ITC-310 (no affiliation). It's programmable, so you could hook it up to a fridge, store your fermenter in said fridge, and set it to 7 days @ 18C, then 3 days @ 21C for D-rest, then 2C for however long til you get home. You'll come home to fermented, d-rested, cold crashed beer :beerbang:
Mate that is an excellent idea!! Thanks.