Help with my first sour

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

popmedium

Reaction score
Hey pals!

In advance, thank you for your help.

First, my question: I've brewed my first sour beer, I'm a few months in to fermentation and I'm concerned about the flavours I'm getting.

In short, the flavours are very hot - phenolic and estery, reminiscent of when I started brewing and didn't have temperature control. I followed the guidelines given by white labs and fermented at 25 Celsius (77 F). Now this is really high but that's what the site said and I've been burnt in the past by not following the guidelines?

So my question: should I be worried? Or being that there are still another 7 months or so before the beer should be ready, will the character change a lot when the bugs start doing their work?

Stats on the beer:

Belgian brown ale, soured, with port soaked oak chips added at the end

OG: 1.068

Fg: currently at 1.016

Yeast: wlp655 (Belgian sour mix - it has sach, pedio, lacto, brett)

Brewed on July 20

Appreciate any help or advice you guys can give

Looks ok, Id just hide him in a cupboard for the next 7 months at ambient temps.
Sours are a long slow journey, plenty of time left to go.

Looks ok, Id just hide him in a cupboard for the next 7 months at ambient temps.
Sours are a long slow journey, plenty of time left to go.

My sours are generally sacch yeast at normal ferment temps then aged at ambient, in glass with bugs and flavourings (oak, whatever). I have added other flavours part way through when I thought the flavour balance was out but as Taz says, they really change with age.
Set and forget and keep oxygen low if you don't want aceto to get too much.