Grassy Notes

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neill

Reaction score
So i made this up a few months ago;

3kg LME (light)
300g dex
20g Cascade + 10g Amarillo @ 40mins
10g Cascade + 20g Amarillo @ 10 mins
Dry hopped 10g each of Cascade and Amarillo when SG hit 1018 (krausen dying off)

Used US-05 yeast from 18-20 degrees

Now this beer came out really nice, it has a great aroma and a good head retention, nice amount of body and is very refreshing. I've never used these two hops before (was trying to get B-Saaz instead of the cascade and make a LCBA type thing but the store was out of B-Saaz) and was expecting something fairly "fruity". Instead it basically tastes like grass. The first two or three mouthfuls are just grassy as hell, then as your palate becomes used to it, the flavour becomes less offensive and sickly and you start to enjoy the beer more.

I am wondering if anyone else has had the same experience with these hops? Is it the Amarillo that's giving me those flavours? It is a very nice beer after the first two tastes!

I've had this when dry hopping cascade before. The older the hops the worse the grassiness i believe.

I once threw in some POR and got this.. i was boiling this hopwater (only hops and water, no extract) for 60 mins or so then chucked in the extract at flameout. I later found out that you want to get your gravity to 1040 for the boil.. its like the magic number or something..

I've had this when dry hopping cascade before. The older the hops the worse the grassiness i believe.

interesting........ that could be it? maybe next time i'll go 30g cascade for 45 min, then all the late additions will be amarillo, and dry hop with amarillo only.

RagingBull - my extract boil was done at 1040 :) you get better hops utilisation that way.

Neill my findings with Dry hopping