Ginger Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frasertag

Reaction score
Hi Fellas

Well im fairly new to brewing but I have done a few Ginger Beers before with this same recipe

This morning when i woke up the Fermentor was full of froth, it had started to froth out of the airlock, I washed around the airlock with some boiled water, removed airlock cleaned it with boiled water and fitted it back and refilled it with boiled water so hopefully i have not made any mistakes there...

why has this happend? It has never happend to me before, its still bubbling away but is it infected kinda bubbling?

I picthed @ 25" with the kits Dry Yeast.

My Recipe is as follows

1 x Coopers Ginger Beer Kit
500g Fresh asian Grated ginger
250g Ginger honey
1.5KG Brewing Sugar

Method
Boil 4 Litres of water, Add 250g Ginger Honey and 500g Grated ginger.
Boiled for around 15minutes.
Covered with cling wrap and cooled for around 15mintues

Put kit in nice clean fermenter
Added my 4 litre mixture, added 1.5kg sugar
Stired, Stired, Stired.
Added 15ish litres of day before boiled water.

I pitched it on sunday and until today no signs of anything being different
SG was 1044
wil take another reading this afternoon.

Hopefully all is well...

Hopefully all is well...

I just had my first "blower" on my brew before last. All turned out good. Sounds like your method for cleaning it up is fine. It should all be good.

Not sure why yours would have done it if you have done the recipe the same before. Maybe a slightly different (aggressive) yeast strain or maybe the temperature is just a little bit warmer now we are coming out of winter and it got over-excited :)

For my case, it was just a wheat yeast in a barrel full of wheat that loves to party hard.

It will be fine

Well i got home
and it had done it again...