Getting Kegs Filled With Commercial Beer

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xframe88

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Excuse the basic question but Im new to the world of kegerators.

Aside from homebrew, is it possible to get your personal kegs filled by commercial brewers?
Is this something many micro-breweries are willing to do, or is that not normal?

Im in Perth, we have no shortage of great breweries, I just dont know if what Im asking is possible.

Cheers

Little Creatures used to sell kegs and also a smaller self contained party keg type thingo. Not sure if they still do it or not though???

Whether you could just swap an empty with a full one with them or get them to fill yours though I have no idea. Cant hurt to ask them and see whats what...

There's plenty of places around that sell commercial kegs for parties etc. Most pubs will sell you a keg with a deposit for return of the keg. If you wanted, you could either just hook up to your system, or transfer to your cornies and return the keg whenever you wanted.

Edit: i'm sure if you called one of your local micros, they'd sell you a keg. The price though may be a touch prohibitive, especially if you're only buying 1 at a time.

Edit Edit: Would love to walk into Archive and buy a keg off them of something... perhaps a 50 of Brewdog Hardcore :beerbang:

Argon, I would go halves in a keg of Brewdog Hardcore IPA if you wanted to. I don't have a 50L coupler though. We could transfer to two 19L and split the rest in two 9L or something haha.