Fridge-less fermentation chamber build

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eMPTy

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the brewing scene and as such do not currently have a fermentation chamber. So far since the weather has cooled, I have been making do with a fermenter with thermowell wrapped in a towel. It is connected to an stc-1000 with heat belt under the house. With the temperatures dropping I am concerned the heat belt will be struggling to get up past 18-20 degrees during the day. I don't want to think about how cold it could be getting at night.

I live with my parents and unfortunately in the space I am allowed to use a fridge is really not an option at this stage. I keep trying, but no luck as yet.

I have seen a few builds on other forums where people have just made a wooden box and then insulated the inside. They have used light bulbs, mats or heat belts etc etc to keep the temperature constant in winter. Sounds great.

Only thing is, if i am going to go to that effort it seems silly to not consider how one might cool such a contraption in summer. I was wondering if anyone may have seen anything along these lines or have any ideas on how to heat and cool.

Cheers

What about a bar fridge? It is essentially a small insulated box and would save you building one. If you're not allowed to put it anywhere but under the house, then it would still serve as an insulated box, even if it wasn't plugged in. I have a fridge (full size) in the shed and don't need a heat belt during winter, even on really cold nights. I just fermented an APA the other day, and even though the Perth temps were hitting 4C overnight, the fridge kept and even 17-18C. At worst you will have made an investment in a piece of brewing kit that you can use in the future?