Food Grade Hosing? Where To Get It?

pokolbinguy

G'day all,

I want to get my hands on some good grade nylon hosing or similar to use in my AG set up for both water and wort.

Any suggestions on:

1. what type

2. where should i get it from (Newcastle area would be great)

3. how much should I expect to pay / m?

Cheers, Pok

the last stuff i bought was 10mm id and i got it from lhbs, cant remember how much, have you tried hbs ?

Not yet. I thought that I may be able to get it cheaper from a local distributor. Was really hoping for suggestions and comments on different types etc.

Will check out the local HBS however.

Cheers, Pok

Check the sponsers for silicon hoses - good stuff.

Looks around the $12.00 mark for 20 mm stuff...seems a little $$.... the thing is i want some long lengths (about 5-8 mtrs x 2) to run back to the taps that supply our washing machine as I have put a sink in my brew bench.

Anyway thanks for the heads up on the silicon hose.

Cheers Pok

There is always that reinforced drinking water hosing that Bunnings sells, how hot is it going to get?

Yeh I walked straight past that tonight and didnt even see it, turns out the girlfriend saw it but didnt think anything of it until later.

I guess it will need to take hot wort (so boiling I guess) and also the hot water from my hot water system...so pretty darn hot.

Any body tried the drinking water hosing from bunnings???? and what is it worth?

Cheers, Pok

I expect silicon hosing is a bit too rigid for most homebrew purposes - I'd personally recommend silicone. :D

Edit:

For reference, silicone is a rubber, while silicon is a metal that looks like this:
Silizium_pulver.jpg

Go the reinforced drinking water hose. I used it for ages with no ill effect. Note there are two types. One of them I got from bunnings is light blue, and really stiff. The other is clear and much more flexible I got from a reece's (but I think bunnings sell it too in a different section or something). Both of them handled boiling wort no problem.

edit: if its going to run to the washing machine, don't use silicone - that stuff doesn't like mains pressure, they balloon up pretty easily under those kinda pressures!

has anyone found a supplier for food grade silicone tubing that is cheaper than the $12 or so that HBS have it for?

Nope...if you do you might be onto the Holy Grail. Silicone hose is kinda like Divorces, they're expensive because they're worth it !

A while back I bought a roll of 12mm drinking water hose from Bunnings ($20-$25 from memory). It's blue on the outside & white inside. No worries with hot /boiling wort except it gets a little soft & kinks if you don't have it supported

I've tried a few different hoses with mixed success.

The blue food grade hose you can get from Bunnings is cheap and works reasonably well as long as you ahve it on the outlet of a pump. Don't put it on the inlet of a pump. As crozdog mentioned, when it gets hot it goes very soft. I found that when it was connected to the inlet of a March pump it couldn't hold its shape and collapsed restricting the flow from the pump. It was ok on the outlet of a pump though.

There is some re-enforced clearish food grade hose you can also get from Bunnings. You can see the re-enforcing braid running around the hose. I found that this didn't work for hot wort. The inner core delaminated from the outer casing and collapsed. Took me a while to figure out what was going on. The hose looked fine on the outside but the pump was being starved. What made it even worse was that it was difficult to see the delamination when the hose cooled down.

I'd recommend the silicone hosing some of the site sponsers have. Handles boiling wort and doesn't collapse either. It won't kink the way the blue hose does when that gets hot either. Expensive, but its really the best around. I've heard that you can get some other food grade hose from Clark Rubber stores thats supposed to be pretty good too and also handles the heat. Around $5-6 per metre. I've not tried any of those though.

If you have a good look at your system you may be surprised at just how little you can get away with. I have two lengths of silicone hose totally around 2 metres. Its used on the hot side of the brewery only. I also have a pile of the blue food grade hose that I use to run from the house to the brewery.

gary

ps: just looked at the length of the post. Damn I think I'm turning into a PP with the length of my replies. :huh:

Interesting to hear you say that gary because I've used both the blue and the clear reinforced hoses regularly on both sides of the (march) pump with near boiling liquids with no issues? I guess where the pump is situated in the brewery could have quite an effect on this...

What is the silicone hose like at holding it's shape? I've got 10m or so of vinyl hose from bunnings, but it was wound so tight in the roll that it wants to keep that shape. Makes it really frustrating when racking. I'd rather a highly flexible hose that trys to stay straight, rather than curved.

Will silicone hose do this?

What is the silicone hose like at holding it's shape? I've got 10m or so of vinyl hose from bunnings, but it was wound so tight in the roll that it wants to keep that shape. Makes it really frustrating when racking. I'd rather a highly flexible hose that trys to stay straight, rather than curved.

so was my garden hose I bought till I played tug of war with the misses.

No it won't, it's referred to as having no "memory"