Foaming Airlock

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sydneybrewer

Reaction score
hi guys,

i am new to brewing and i am about 4 days in to my first homebrew fermenting, well last night i decided to check on my beer and foam was spewing out of the airlock, so i have put it in the tub and left it overnight and the foam is still spewing out an alarming rate this morning. please help what should i do if anything.

Just clean the airlock & lid and reinstall it, no big deal.

Did you happen to use more yeast than recommended, or is your brew loaded with sugar ? These factors might start a volcano.

But if you're worried about mess in the future, chuck the airlock, install a vinyl tube into the grommet and put the other end in a jug of water, then into another container. It serves the same purpose as an airlock, but the mess will be easier to clean up.

There's every chance your beer is NOT ruined, but you can rest assured its definatly fermenting :p

i used 2 cans of coopers lager, and half kilo of dextrose, and 1 packet of the yeast inside the lid of the coopers can.
i saw the step by step recipe on youtube and thought i would try it, except that guys didn't foam up.

you mean like this post 16.

It just means the yeast has gone nuts. healthy healthy yeast. what temp were you fermenting at?

edit
although reading now that it was a coopers standard yeast, id say it was more down to the amount of sugars available to it (ie a toucan + dex). im assuning you fermented at around 20C.

also what volume did you make it up to and how big is your fermentor.

Also check your temperatures high temps will cause fast ferments.

Coopers kit yeast does have a habit of going ballistic though especially if you are above 20C and doing toucans. It will die down after a few days.