Fermentation Issues

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lillywhite

Reaction score
Hi,

New to the site but have been brewering for about 9 years, I just started brewing AG about 3 years ago and then stopped brewing for personal reasons for about a year and a half.

I am now back in it and am not having the success I use to even though I have improved my system and processes, I have brewed 3 brews since returning, the first was a complete failure resulting in infection and tipping on the garden. I am seeking assistance or advice with my last 2 brews.

The issue I am having is the wort is not fermenting out, the first (of the last 2) final SG reading was 1.019 (checked over consecutive days). The last brew (which is still in secondary) is only down to 1.028, I'll talk you through the last brew:

Brew Date: 21/11/10
Style: Germ Pils
Yeast: Saflager 34/70 11.5g
Vol: 22L
OSG: 1.058
Pitching Temp: 24C (approx 1030 that night)
Wort Temp: 13C (The next morning) Airlock bubbling away

01/12/10
Temp: 13C
SG: 1.028 Airlock bubbling slowed down so transferred to secondary.

07/12/10
SG: 1.028

09/12/10

Secondary Airlock did commence bubbling but only for 24 - 48 hours. I still have the beer in secondary.

The wort taste and smell ok, will still keg it and drink it but would really like to work out what is going wrong.

Issues I know I need to fix but don't believe this to be the reason for the above results.