Extract Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thunderlips

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've never tried extract brewing before. With all the recipes out there the temptation is too great.
I've been having a bit of a read of various instructions all over the place and thought this one was fairly clear and it seems easy enough.
http://www.northernbrewer.com/documentatio...nstructions.pdf

My question is regarding full boil vs partial boil.
I'd rather start of with partial boil as I don't need to worry about a seperate burner connected to a gas bottle and so on.
I've noticed that most recipes out there seem to be for full boil.
Is it correct that the amount of hops used is different between the two methods?
If you had a recipe for a full boil, how would you go about working out the differences for a partial boil?
One recipe I'd like to try is this one, which someone else here posted...
http://www.cornells.com/content.cfm?s=5&p=29
I love APA's :)

Is there anything else, besides hops, that needs to be changed?

As far as pots go, I was looking at either a 20 or 30L Robinox aluminium stockpot from allquip.
I suppose 30L is probably a bit too big for partial boil, maybe even 20L is too big.
What size do think would be best?

Thanks.

Firstly I will say go for it! Extract brewing is an easy step up and the results are worth it!
There are heaps of recipes, particularly form the US, and lots of info.

There is a difference in hop utilisation, and beersmith 1.4 allows you to specify when you are adding extract and then uses this in calculations so I would highly recommend this program if you don't have it already.