Esb Extra Special Stout Ideas

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sydneybrewer

Reaction score
Gday all,

decided to put down a quick kit and bits brew and i wanted to see if you guys think the recipe would work.

decided on using the 3kg esb extra special stout tin as a base.

3.0kg ESB Extra Special Stout Tin
0.7kg Caramalt
0.3kg Choc Malt
0.25kg Ground Turkish Coffee
safale S-04

ferment volume of 20L at 16C

i do have about 1kg of caramalt all up and 1kg of choc malt but a little scared to use too much choc as i have never used it before and i am told it has a very overpowering flavour, i am hopping that the caramalt will add some nice sweetness.

Gday all,

decided to put down a quick kit and bits brew and i wanted to see if you guys think the recipe would work.

0.7kg Caramalt
0.3kg Choc Malt
safale S-04

i do have about 1kg of caramalt all up and 1kg of choc malt but a little scared to use too much choc as i have never used it before and i am told it has a very overpowering flavour, i am hopping that the caramalt will add some nice sweetness.

Are the choc and caramalt grains or tins of liquid malt?

Gday all,

0.7kg Caramalt
0.3kg Choc Malt
safale S-04

SydneyBrewer,

This kit was one of the best (IMO) out of the 100 kit beers I made - so my suggestion is not to mess around with it too much.

Of course, if you've used it before - go right ahead.

Looking at my old spreadsheet - if you make it up on it's own to 19L you get OG of 1044 so you might want to take that into consideration. Maybe go 18L.

If you do go the extra grain route, balance that with a hop addition of some kind (make up half volume in pot on stove and boil with 20g EKG for 5 mins or so as an example).

Anyhoo - good luck,

PB