Easy Drinking Pale Recipe Advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andycostin

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a relative newby on here - been constantly reading for the past 4-5months, but haven't posted at all. That aside I've been brewing on and off for the past 10 years and now getting into it pretty seriously.

Anyway, the problem I've got is that while I really enjoy different beers, a few of my mates are after an "easy drinking beer"..... I don't want to create a "shit" CD or VB clone, but want something that's a stepping stone between that and a Pale Ale.

So I've created the following recipe using Beersmith and was hoping to get some feedback from you experts out there.....

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 20.00 L
Boil Size: 23.99 L
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 3.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 20.0 IBU
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
1.50 kg Extra Light Dry Extract (3.0 SRM) Dry Extract 50.8 %
0.25 kg Carared (20.0 SRM) Grain 8.5 %
0.20 kg Carafoam (2.0 SRM) Grain 6.8 %
10.00 gm Galaxy [14.00%] (30 min) Hops 13.6 IBU
10.00 gm Galaxy [14.00%] (10 min) Hops 6.4 IBU
20.00 gm Summer Saaz [5.50%] (Dry Hop 3 days) Hops -
1.00 kg Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 SRM) Sugar 33.9 %
1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056) [Starter 1Yeast-Ale

Look forward to hearing some feedback!

Thanks
--
Andy

Perhaps increase the ELDME to 2kg

I've not used Galaxy before but the description sounds nice. Looks to be a fairly inoffensive beer which I'm sure your mates would enjoy.

Hey guys,

I'm a relative newby on here - been constantly reading for the past 4-5months, but haven't posted at all. That aside I've been brewing on and off for the past 10 years and now getting into it pretty seriously.