Domestic Power Supply

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jono_w

Reaction score
Sparkies

As I'm an industrial electrician I have no understanding of residential supplies, how hard is it to convince esv to connect a 3 phase supply to my new place? It is right out the front , overhead.

Or a what are the amp limits on single phase mains?

Sparkies

As I'm an industrial electrician I have no understanding of residential supplies, how hard is it to convince esv to connect a 3 phase supply to my new place? It is right out the front , overhead.

Or a what are the amp limits on single phase mains?

Tell them you are installing a 3 phase cooling system, its powercor you will have to convince.
Single phase you'd be lucky to get anything bigger than 16mm2 overhead mains.

I am not a sparky, but a mate of mine is who installed 2 * 23 Amp circuits and he was surprised that my main fuse is 80 Amps so I would suggest the more modern the house is, the less it will be.
This is a mid 80's building and the owner built it so he might have had contacts to get a more reasonable supply.

Cheers

Roller

recently built a new house, sparky put in 3 phase power to handle a/c and extras down the track.

he described it as 3 sets of 100amp supplies.

normal house has 1 x 100amp supply, hence 1 phase and 3 phase.
getting changed from 1 to 3 may cost you, but worth making enquiries.

Cheers guys,

The house is in a commercial zone so there is a good supply out the front, I think it will be worth spending the coin on otherwise I'll have to convert to natural gas :(

I have heard they don't like putting it on unless you have a good reason, a brewery in your shed you say? ha ha sure!