Dextrose headaches .....

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bada Bing Brewery

Reaction score
I brewed double batch pils and tried keg priming one (first time) and carbed the other using Co2. Was trying to see if there was any difference between keg priming and usual Co2 priming for taste. I couldn't taste any difference.
What I have noticed though is the dex primed beer is giving me headaches, after only 3-4 glasses. The first Co2 keg went down in buckets with no drama's at all.
I've never used dextrose before (was only 60g) but this is the only major difference between the 2 brews.
Anybody else have this affliction???
Cheers
BBB

Have you taken the FG between the two beers? Perhaps - though unlikley - the dex ramped up the ABV enough to sting your head. Check what compounds are released when it ferments, maby you have an allergy.

I Dunno.

Eat a teaspoon straight and see what happens.

i think your being a wuss again bbb. But on a serious note i saw somewhere in a thread or 2 guys with a print out of thier beers on a docket from a test. It had all the abv etc not sure what machine it was from maybe you could get that done between the 2 and see what the diff is. I think Truman was one of the guys who had it done maybe he can let you know (sorry if im wrong)

No FG. Keg 1 is goneski.

It's wierd as all other variables are they same - I'm 6' 2", still gorgeous and my six pack is intact and rock hard as always......... it has to be the dex.

Dave - I like your style, nobel prize winners have dunit ..... It's going on my wheatbix or I'll just do a line ;)
Cheers
BBB

Word to the wise... whatever you do.. don't do a line of dex.

A mate of mine back in high school once pretended to do a line of glucose powder (same thing) but pretended a little too vigorously and ended up with an nose-full.