Describe Heineken - Tasting

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mickoz

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm a noob at this and need advice.

I've developed a taste for Schoefferhofer Hefeweizen and want to brew a clone but don't know what yeast to choose. This may sound dumb but I worry that German\Bavarian wheat yeast strains will make the beer like a Heineken (which I hate but I can't describe why) I don't like the flavour but I don't have enough tasting experience to describe why. What is the dominant Heineken flavour? There are many other German lagers that I don't like because of this flavour but I don't know if it is yeast generated flavour or relates to some other ingredients in the German beer styles.

First of all, Heineken is not a wheat beer. Typical bavarian wheat beer characteristics are banana, clove and tartness, Heineken has (well should have) none of them.

Heineken is not meant to have a very dominant flavour. If you are used to drinking imported heineken, you may be experiencing the slight skunky flavour that occurs due to it being in a green bottle and sent across the globe. This slight skunk (smells and tastes a bit sulfury) is the taste I attributed to european beers for a long time before brewing.

To get similar yeast characteristics to schofferhoffer you will need to use a liquid yeast, Wyeast 3068 is good, and use very strict fermentation temperature control, otherwise your beer may end up way out of balance. There is a topic in the "style of the week" forum on weizens and this would be a good reference thread.

Cheers.