Conditioning a Flanders Red Ale

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reedy

Reaction score
It's my first time brewing a Flanders Red (Jamil's AG recipe from BYO) using White Labs Belgian sour mix 1, and it's almost ready to transfer to secondary for conditioning.

I have a 23L glass carboy but only have 18L in the FV, and wondering if this much headspace will be an issue over the 12 months I hope to leave it.

Should I give it a quick hit of C02 to form a 'blanket' over the liquid, or am I just over-thinking things?

I'm also going to put about 30gm of french oak mini staves into the carboy for the duration, and wondering if I should split these to provide more surface area.

It's my first time doing a sour, first time using a glass carboy & first time doing an extended secondary conditioning, so all advice/tips welcomed.

If leaving something for that long, you really do want to reduce oxygen contact unless really trying to push acetic character.

CO2 if you can but you can also reduce the headspace with boiled water (obviously drops abv and dilutes so add the minimum amount).

I'm also going to put about 30gm of french oak mini staves into the carboy for the duration, and wondering if I should split these to provide more surface area.

IMO that would be a backwards step. The general rule is the longer the contact, the lower the surface area to volume ratio required.

BTW an easy way to manage the ullage is to buy several packets of glass marbles and drop them into the carboy. 1 litre of ullage requires about 2.5 kg of marbles. Cheap bulk marbles

IMO that would be a backwards step. The general rule is the longer the contact, the lower the surface area to volume ratio required.