Commercial Styles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scott

Reaction score
G'day all,

My name's Scott in Perth. I am relatively new to home brewing after drinking some of the mate's brew's and finding the price of my favorite micro brewy beer leaving the walet a little empty. I've done a couple kits, some with extra's and have my first partial APA in the secondary now. I'm thinking what the hell, start all grain. After xmas when I'll get togethether some equipment.

I have been doing some reading, Palmer's book, this site (which is excellent), other sites, BJCP style guide, beer periodic table (from this site) ect ect.

I am thinking of formulating a couple of recipes based on commercial beers that I like. Matilda Bay's Redback, Malt Shovel's porter to name a few. I intend to keep it simple to get the basics of all grain brewing and recipe formulation.

I have found a huge amount of information and recipes. The one thing that all this information lacks, is taste. By this I mean I like redback and JS porter and so want to have a go at a basic recipe that is similar. But when I look up recipes for porter there are hundreds and I can't identify any as similar to JS porter. Information is out there such as LCPA has a ton of disscussion on this site.

Is there a compilation of commercially available beer in Oz that details it's style, typical malts, hops and yeast?

All grain is the way to go, I won't go back to brewing any ther way.

I gave up attempting to clone commercial beers because i found the basic recipes found on the web to be as good if better than most beers out in the market place.

Hell why try and clone a beer when you can experiment and make you own better beers that meet your particular tastes. :)

Scott welcome to the addiction.