Cider

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LukeCharles

Reaction score
Hi all,

About the put on a 25 L cider, got the juice organised.

Do I need to add more sugar? in the form of dex?

What type of yeast and how much is recommended? I read Wyeast is good, any specific?

Also heard about LDME, is about 250 grams a good amount?

I have read on the site that it is best to keep at the lower temp range to ferment. Is about 16 degrees C good?

Any help would be great, I am a noob brewer at the moment.

Thanks!

No need for Dex. Straight Juice should give around 1050 - depending on the yeast it can ferment below 1000 which is both dry and reasonable alc level. Dex is superfluous. You can add malt if you like - it will add body and a different flavour. Look up Graff. I personally would only add malt if I was specifically making graff - cider doesn't need it.

I'd recommend getting a few litres of different juices just to make the profile a little more complex. Go with a cheap, preserve free base juice then add in some slightly more expensive juices (preserve free as well).

yeast can be any - I usually use white wine yeast which gives a very dry cider. I also add a bit of lactose to hold it back from being bone dry. I've recently tried 4766 (Wyeast) in a cider made from my own squeezed apples but at this point I'm not sure if it's the apple skin yeasts or the wyeast that's done the fermenting. Tastes good but more like a breton style. Some people use US05 which will be a bit less dry than white wine. I've also heard the wyeast sweet mead yeast can work.

I prefer lower ferment and this is traditional in breton cider making - I find, like a lager, it gives a cleaner drinking cider. I also like to cold condition mine following ferment for the same reason.