Chilli! All Things Chillies.

View attachment 51783
Hey Tony & Cube (et al),

My 7pot tree (second season) is suffering this year. Thanks for the seeds Tony, you rock.

What do you use to catch the fruit flies? Home made contraption? Something u can buy?

Anyway, the first year was a CRACKER, 7pots galore, this season the tree looks like it has nothing left in it, leaves are tiny, no fruit, just spied 2 smallish 7pots on it today, sneaky fkers, but the tree isnt the best. Its in a medium post 30cm or so. I should put it in the ground.

Today I planted 3 Butch T seeds, 3 7pots, 6 birdseye and 6 Thai basil seeds....Thai Basil....yummmmm. Goes so well with my Kaffir Lime tree. Which has the orange spot bug, those guy suck BADLY, only confidor would get the buggers!

Rendo

At the begining of spring, i remove the overwintered plants from their pld pots, trim back 2/3 of the roots, cut them back like they are a rose bush and re-pot them in fresh premium potting mix, and add in some stuff like peat moss, dry horse poo or sheep poo, a hand full of fire ash, wetting agents, blood and bone etc etc.

give them LOTS of food to hook in for the summer.

I have found chilli's to be real food junkies. I didnt repot mine this year and they are tiny with very small yields...... but next year will be better. Thats what i get for being lazy!

i will also attack a pic of the fruit fly traps in action.......... ******* Qld'rs!

Tony

Attachments

• Fruit_fly_traps__1152_x_1728_.jpg
    Fruit_fly_traps__1152_x_1728_.jpg
    280.6 KB · Views: 61
That's GREAT Tony...thank you for the photo of the fruit fly trap :)

Excellent tip regarding the repotting!!! I do this for my bonsai trees every couple of years, makes perfect sense for a potted chilli tree.! (every yer though...great advice)

Rendo

View attachment 51783

At the begining of spring, i remove the overwintered plants from their pld pots, trim back 2/3 of the roots, cut them back like they are a rose bush and re-pot them in fresh premium potting mix, and add in some stuff like peat moss, dry horse poo or sheep poo, a hand full of fire ash, wetting agents, blood and bone etc etc.

give them LOTS of food to hook in for the summer.

I have found chilli's to be real food junkies. I didnt repot mine this year and they are tiny with very small yields...... but next year will be better. Thats what i get for being lazy!

i will also attack a pic of the fruit fly traps in action.......... ******* Qld'rs!

Tony

In an effort to avoid fruit fly, need to overwinter, cross pollination, birds, nosey pet dogs, children that dont listen, hail and any other number of factors affecting growth of a chilli plant, I have decided to house mine in a tank with a grow light so I can control as many of these factors as possible.
Plant is sourced from Bunnings, pot from a specialist pot shop, cabinet from an online ebay retailer, light from Living Apartment (good service there) and patience for my crazy antics from SWMBO.
Hopefully should have a nice healthy plant in about 4 weeks and good crop of red Habs after that.
Light seems to be sufficient for the plant growth. The pot is customised with gravel water well and paracord water wicks to the surface to keep the soil most but not swampy. Fertilisation is in the form of tomato pellets pre mushed in water before being added to base of the plant. Was thinking of tracking down a few earthworms from the other pots and soil outside to add as well to keep things moving along as well as mulch when the main stem is a little taller.
Anyone else growing in this fashion that can offer good tips?

220112RedHab.jpg

Plant is from bunnings....... mate...... almost everything i get from bunnings is already cross polinated..... very dodgy stock!

get some good pure strain seeds for something worth going to this trouble for and have some fun.

Its not an orange hab is it? If it is. plant it in the garden and it will give you more fruit than you can handle. You can water them with petrol and roundup and they laugh at you :p

Oh....... i just cut a slice off a ripe Naga Morich Raja Mirch.

Smokin hot and very tasty. I drooled about a liter of drool, nose running, sweat and bloodshot eyes.

Yep.... they are hot :)

NMRM_120122.jpg

That one is a red habanero and have an orange one in a big pot outside, bit drowned atm.
Its more a proof it all works before i go out and get the Red Scotch Bonnet seeds i have planned for that tank. I have heard they are rampant cross polinators, so any stock from bunnings may be a bit less pure, but still able to show me if the setup is totally incompatible.
Grats on your nagas, looking good.

Oh....... i just cut a slice off a ripe Naga Morich Raja Mirch.

Smokin hot and very tasty. I drooled about a liter of drool, nose running, sweat and bloodshot eyes.

Yep.... they are hot :)

That looks fab Tony. Well done mate I know how hard those hot suckers are to grow. I've been smashed over the last almost week with the rains here so am going to have to cull a few plants and start again I think. I'll keep one Bhut, one 7 pot, two devils tongues and 3 orange habs and toss all the rest..... sad but life is a bitch :)

I just went had a look and i also have quite a crop of Trinidad Scorpions and Yellow 7 Pods on the way.

My Devil tongue is starting to flower like mad, just need to get them to stick.

Also the Bih Jalokia is starting to show some flowers..... its not liking the sub 30 deg days.

Oh... and some sad news....... the Mother of Evil 7 Pod i have been nurchering for many years....... its dying of old age :(

But, its sending out a couple fresh shoots from the base so it may live on...... i just want one more flower to bag to get pure strain seeds........ JUST ONE MORE.

Can someone help with my chilli plant?
its a bhut jolokia and its getting brown spots on it, it looks burnt could it be sunburnt?
IMAG0307.jpg

crap...... i havnt checked this thread in ages.

That bhut looks dry and malnurished.

Big pot full of premium potting mix with lots of food, and keep the roots damp but not wet. a 2 inch layer of sugar cane mulch works well to keep the moisture in and the roots cool.

all this makes a big differemce.

and these super hots want heat. they like full sun and as much warm weather as you can dish up. Put them in the warmest sunniest part of the house

Thanks they face North and get sun all day, I give them Yates thrive for food, would you recommend anything else? I have some cane mulch I will put some on. It's was starting to warm up, and got one or two flowers hope fully that will change into chillies.

Got this plant from the markets last year. The old duck called them "black pearl" strangely enough. They go bright red when ready. Not super hot but they do have a bite.

image.jpg

Got this plant from the markets last year. The old duck called them "black pearl" strangely enough. They go bright red when ready. Not super hot but they do have a bite.

Beautiful plant! I only managed to get one of my seeds to germinate. Will have to check if I have more...

Just thought I'd chuck up a couple of photos of the current plants.

Jalapenos
Jalapenos.jpg

Long Thai Chillis
LongThai.jpg

Orange Habanaros.
Habaneros.jpg

All doing well, just need to remember to keep the water up in this heat, they dry out quick.

Also got a big Thai Birdseye plant out the back, but it's only just getting flowers on it now.

I was kindly given a 4 year old Douglah plant during the winter.

It is a very....... VERY rare brown 7 Pot.

I over winter'd it, re potted it and gave the poor looking old girl some TLC.

Its now loading up with these :)

and they are very hot :)

Douglah 1 130117 (1901 x 1267).jpg

Douglah 2 130117 (1901 x 1267).jpg

Douglah 3 130117 (1901 x 1267).jpg

Douglah 4 130117 (600 x 400).jpg

They look good. I hear they get pretty godamn hot too. Any chance of scabbing some seeds from one when you pick them? Happy to pay postage to the central coast.

I am working on tea bagging some flowers to get pure strain seeds...... first round failed...... next try this weekend

No guarantees

My Naga Dorset is setting heaps of fruit with some ripening now. I wintered a small seedling from last summer in a pot and then put it in the garden after the last frost..

nagadorset1.jpg

Tony, i know you have probably already done this somewhere in the previous 50 pages, but can you post a recipe for your fruit fly bait please?

Love the tampon idea and the traps seem very effective without the stinking mess of the fruit drink based recipes.

Hello Tony & All,

Here is my morning's 7pot harvest. Thanks for the seeds so many years ago. This tree has provided endless entertainment and satisfaction :) and some great dinners! :)

I have cut them up, ready to put in the near 40 deg heat here in sydney today :) dry my pretties!! dry...

7pot_all.jpg

7pot_cut.jpg

Tony & Others....

HELP PLEASE!!

I have an issue with one of my chilli tree and I have No Fn Idea what is going on. Ive been growing chillies for years but I have never seen this.
Its my favourite 'staple' chilli too....just a simple 'bullet style' chilli like you see everywhere, packs a punch, grows big, very prolific, great for making a killer powder, but certainly not habanero hot.

Anyhow, attached is a picture of a 'good tree'. Planted at the same time as the 'bad tree'. Same seed stock, same everything just a few metres apart in the same garden bed.

Its like the leaves have all shrivelled up and become crinkly and thick/waxy.....really odd.

Any ideas please?

Overwatering?
I know I have not underwatered it?
Over fertilised it?? I did use blood n bone I think
Is there disease in the soil/roots?
I had a cover of about 1-2 inches of lucerne hay thinking it would be good, freaked out when it 'shrivelled', removed the hay, no change
Umm any other ideas....is it a bug of some sort?? I dont think so...I cant see any evidence of bugs. The trees right adjacent to it (butch T) have no issues at all

Outta ideas fells....help..... :)

rendo

chilli_good.jpg

chilli_bad.jpg