Calgary Carrot Rednut

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Forever Wort

Reaction score
Remember: This is my first thread, I am a beginner! Trying for a sweet, clear, high-alcohol orange ale. Go easy!

I brewed a kit beer with carrots. It is currently fermenting.

I prepared the carrots the following way:

First, I grated three carrots into a pot with twelve litres of water and boiled it down to 50% of its original volume, that is, six litres (about three hours simmering). I then strained the carrot out and put the solution aside to cool.

I also prepared caramelised carrots by skinning twelve carrots and wrapping each one, together with one tablespoon of sugar, in foil. I roasted these at 100°C for four hours and also set them aside to cool to room temperature. The total volume of carrots was 2.25kg and they came out soft and sweet.

I used a Coopers Canadian Blonde kit and the kit yeast. Fermentable sugars were 500g Coopers Brew Enhancer #1, 1kg Cane Sugar (this includes that used on the carrots) and 250g dextrose. Also a teaspoon of non-fermentable sweetener. The caramelised carrots were added to the bottom of the fermenter and the boiled carrot extract was used to fill out the brew.

Original gravity sat at 1.050, fermenter is glad wrapped and now three of the carrots are floating in the krausen.

Comments? Advice? I am thinking of a longer than normal fermentation. Adjuncts?

I am thinking ... ginger? (to go with the rednut theme)

Forever Wort said:
fermenter is glad wrapped
and now three of the carrots are
floating in the krausen.
That's practically a brewer's haiku. Weirdo :p
Nothing helpful to add I'm afraid. I do really want to know how it comes out though. Cool experiment.