Cafara Special Ii

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kai

Fermentation Assistant
Reaction score
I was wondering what people's experience with carafa malts are, especially the dehusked versions. I would like to use a fair amount for colouring but I don't want to overdo the roast flavour, I know that carafa special is milder, but I'm not experienced in how big the difference is.

The weyermann site recommends a maximum of 5% of the grist for all carafa malts. However, they also recommend a maximum of 10% for roasted barley. I certainly wouldn't ever want to use that much roast barley, so it makes me wonder how reliable their recommendations for carafa are.

What's the most carafa special you've used before, and how much would you consider too much, in what sort of style, what strength of carafa flavour, etc?

Have used a bit of carafa II, seems like a fairly strong grain. has the colour ( may be darker), but not the bitterness of roast barley.

I am going to try it in a scottish this weekend.

G'day Kai,

I've used its big brother, Carafa III quite a bit. I use it a lot as a 'colour only' malt in beers like alts where I want to add a touch of darker colour without any attached roasty flavour - in this case I tend to add it at the sparge and it does the trick.

I've also used it in Porters and Stouts before, mashed in with the rest of the grains. Indeed the last two beers I've brewed used this malt in this way. It gives a very strong dark colour to the beer - stronger than you might think looking at it in the grain bill compared to say, black malt or roast barley. It gives an intense kind of dark chocolaty flavour for want of a better descriptor. Definitely less 'roasty' than the roast barley, and smoother all round, but flavoursome and intense nonetheless.