Bulk Priming

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hazard

Reaction score
Hi, I started brewing about 12 months ago (k&k) and have just started with partial mashes. Would like to go AG but stove isn't big enough.

I've also started bulk priming but am getting a problem with uneven carbonation - some bottles near flat, others gush. Is there a special technique to use? How long should I boil dextrose/ water? After I rack beer from from first fermentor and mix with priming sugar, how long should I wait before I bottle? I have been bottling straight away, but should I wait for a while to let primer diffuse into the beer?

Thanks for any advice.

hazard

Hi there,

Personally, I sanitise a vessel (cube), mix the sugar and boling water until dissolved and pour into the cube. I then empty the contents of my fermenter via some food-grade hose into the cube and bottle which seems to ensure it all mixes pretty consistently. Never had a problem.

sap.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnd....we're off! :D

What method do you use? Sugar solution into fermentor first or beer first then solution? Do you stir? Lets get exact.

*puts on kevlar underwear*

Personally, I think single-prime is the way to go...easy and quick and I've never had a problem with inconsistency or what-have-you.

*puts on woolen undergarments*

In fact, bulk priming can lead to any sort of infection easily, exposing the brew while it is at its most vulnerable; without a nice, fat CO2 layer thats being replenished by fermentation.

*put on fire-retardant race suit*

I think it'd be easier to just single prime and be done with it.

*dons a NASA approved helmet, runs like hell*

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnd....we're off! :D

What method do you use? Sugar solution into fermentor first or beer first then solution? Do you stir? Lets get exact.

*puts on kevlar underwear*