Brewing With Stevia

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bongchitis

Reaction score
G'Day all,

I have been growing and using stevia on and off for a couple of years and I was always dissapointed at the results. Always a grassy and bitter aftertaste that I simply couldn't get past :icon_vomit: . Then I started doing some research and found that there are 4 sweet compounds in stevia with one in particular, Rebaudioside A also known as Rebiana, being the sweetest and least bitter. So I looked around for a stevia extract with high levels of this compound and found some on E-Bay, so I took a punt and bought 100g which will probably last me for 10 years!

Anyway, it is supposed to be 300 X the sweetness of sugar. I don't think so. I did some calculations and prepared a standard solution where 2 drops from a dropper yeilded the same sweetness as 1 tsp (~5g) of sugar and tried it side by side with 200ml of water with 5g sugar dissolved.

Firstly, it is a different kind of sweetness, not as full in the mouth for lack of a better term and does not have the same 'body' that a sugar solution does. I had to double the dose to 4 drops to get a sort of equivalent sweetness but the best thing was there was not a hint of bitterness and virtually no aftertaste, even at the increased dose. Bloody fantastic. Just made a cup of tea with 4 drops and you could barely tell, I might try it with my wife and see if she picks it.

The initial testing showed that it is more likely 150 - 200 times as sweet as sugar, but you are not comparing apples to apples as it has different sensory properties and when put in different things will obviously behave differently.