Brass Or Stainless?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rotgut

Reaction score
I'm setting up some AG brewing equipment at the moment.

In a domestic environment is the benifit of stainless steel fittings (i.e. ball valves, couplings, etc.) worth the significant extra cost?

What are the potential issues with brass??

In my day job (yes I have to work as I cannot live on beer alone) I work in the pharmaceutical industry. We use nothing but stainless for anything that is product contact - theory is its the best material for cleaning. ie Its easier to clean and it is less likely to harbour bacteria and prevent carry over (from batch to batch, not really a home brewing issue).

In a domestic environment is the benifit of stainless steel fittings (i.e. ball valves, couplings, etc.) worth the significant extra cost?

brass has lead in it, which bothers some people.

Hello rotgut,

If you are looking for stainless products try this US based company.
I have just purchased stainless 1/2" calmocks and 3 piece ball valves
from them. Tp service and very good price. If you can keep your order
under 4lbs weight postage should be about USD$15.00 I have no affiliation
just a happy customer.

http://www.bargainfittings.com

Regards

Graeme

my dedication to stainless borders on some kind of religious devotion.

with my whole setup, i've opted to save for stainless, rather than compromise with brass.

I've gone all SS but only because of possible electrolysis caused by 2 dissimilar metals????

Has anyone investgated this and it's effects? Probably not a problem so maybe I'm just after bling (wank) factor! :p

cheers, Mat