Bland Beer, Will It Get Better?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

david d

Reaction score
Hi
this is my first attempt at making beer
I used a coopers kit but tried canadian blonde instead of the supplied lager although I only used the supplied brewing suger
It started out at 1040 and finished on 1007 after 9 days.
I Bottled them 16 days ago
and thought Id try one
and what I found was that they are too carbonated (tastes fizzy) and are really bland
I did chill it pretty cold although I dont know whether that matters
Well Finally the question is. Will it get better after a couple of months or do I junk it and start again?

Dave

Why don't you keep that one, and get another started of the same recipe/kit. Then you can compare the two.
Welcome to the forum.

I'll second Chad, but add that 16 days in the bottle might be jumping the gun a bit. I've not used that kit before but I have often (not always) found that flavours can change slightly over time.

Cheers,

Mike

If you do another one try to do 1kg of LDME (thats light dry malt extract) and maybe 250g of dextrose but the malt extract will give more body and mouth feel it makes it sweeter why I tend to add a touch of dextrose (although never tried a full malt one yet) I like a little drier tasting beers and dextrose gives this.

If you used the carbonation drops I found that they made my beer to fizzy the first time but the second is perfect. Make sure the fermentation has finished fully (I think that contributed to extra fizz in my first one) 3 of the same readings 3 days in a row is a good sign and doesnt hurt to leave a few more days to drop some yeast out