Big Infection

From my experience, most of mine still smell like beer when fermenting, and even though they may smell a bit weird, they usually turn out okay.

But the smell I had from my stout on the weekend was horrid. Sour milk and creamed corn. Took a sample and spat it out. Totally undrinkable.
It was a chucker. Took a few candles and a good spray of Glen 20 to clear the air.

Ok, well that gives me some reassurance because this brew was nothing like that. I definitely would have noticed sour milk and creamed corn! Really, the only problem with it was the white scum on top.

I did also take the precaution of storing the bottles of it in an esky in case they were bottle bombs in the making....

When in doubt, bottle it I say. If it smells like beer & tastes like beer, it's probably beer. If it smells & tastes like sweaty armpits then chuck it down the sink.

OK, so the other day I was reading this thread and I saw the pictures and thought, that doesn't look too good, I'm glad I've never had an infection. Then a few days later I go to throw some finings into my latest batch and BAM! deja vu.

What the hell?!?! Why does my beer look like the surface of the moon?

I've never used Brettanomyces in any of my beers, but from other pics that people have posted, it kind of looks like a Brett pellicle that you had. Could that be possible? Can anyone else who has used Brett comment?

Well it wasn't intended to be a Lambic beer but maybe that's what it's turned out to be. I'll be honest and say I had no idea what Brettanomyces were but a quick google search found this relevant thread on another forum (am I going to get burned for posting this?):

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f13/brettanomy...-barrels-86312/

Either way, I like Hatchy's advice and vaguely followed it by bottling enough of it to not have wasted too much beer if it turns out ok, but also bottling not too much so as to have wasted my time if it's terrible!

I would be worried about bottle bombs if it is Brett. From what I understand, it's a slow fermenter with high attenuation, fermenting down to FG of less than 1.000 sometimes.

Again, I've never used it and only know what I know about it from books and AHB, so someone else who has used it should be trusted over me.

If it is bad we'll know in two weeks :icon_vomit:

Drum Roll Please All.....I hooked it up this arvo after chilling it for two weeks.....and guess what? It's totally fine!!!!! So the old saying goes, if it looks like beer, smells like beer and tastes like beer life is good. Man am I pleased I didnt dump it, so my record of 9 years brewing with no infection remains in tact. Thanks once again for all your advice and support. Cheers Craig

Excellent news. Even though you tipped a bit, knowing it wasn't an infection is positive. B)

I would be worried about bottle bombs if it is Brett. From what I understand, it's a slow fermenter with high attenuation, fermenting down to FG of less than 1.000 sometimes.

Again, I've never used it and only know what I know about it from books and AHB, so someone else who has used it should be trusted over me.

You are correct though. I have a brett sour I'm ageing at the moment. The pellicle looks similar but much more intense. I added a small amount of extra unhopped wort yesterday but prior to that the gravity was around 998.

Good to hear mate. I didn't know that was an old saying I used, I thought I was quite clever & made it up myself.