Beginner To Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ralphi

Reaction score
Hi there,

Just before i get started I hope this is posted in the right section, if not someone can move it.

So the basic story is i'm a uni student and i'm looking at getting into the homebrewing scene in the hope of cheap(ish) beer, to make some ginger beer/lemonade and just out of interest, that said I don't have a lot of cash to throw at this hobby. After reading some pages on the internet I've gathered that the cooper's home brew kit seems to be a solid choice for a beginner. As well as this i'm hoping to scrounge a bottle capper (bench mount) from my grandpa. Before I go any further I have some questions that I'm hoping you can help me out with.

Would it be fine to recap bottles such as VB and Carlton draught stubbies?
(I say this because my friends drink a lot of VB/Carlton so I could easily get the bottles but I hear people recommending import bottles?)

How much sediment would you expect to see in a stubby with an average kit and kilo brew?
(My friend tells me that most brewers use longnecks because there is so much sediment in a stubby it's barely worth it)

I can see that in my local supermarket it costs about $13 for a kit and $4 or so for cooper's brewing sugar. For better tasting beer everything I've read says avoid cooper's brewing sugar and use some better gear from the HBS, How much would I expect to pay for a kilo of better sugar and yeast?

What sort of equipment would I have to look at getting before I could start doing AG? (assuming I ever get that far)

Hypothetically speaking would it be possible to use the cooper's fermenter to make spirits?

Is there anything else I should know before getting into home brewing?