Beer Brewing Newbie

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deathgod64

Reaction score
How you going guys?

I'm new to this site only signed up a few hours ago, but in that time i've been cruising around looking at different topics getting tips and such for brewing beer. As this is my first time I am in need of abit of help as I am not sure how well my current batch is going.

So I started off with a Coopers micro-brewkit from the local Brew store here and started my batch on Monday (13th). I followed the instructions and the dvd and all seemed to go fine I put in my Lager followed by the sugar and 2 litres of boiling water I stirred then added the rest to make 23L, by this time I had been getting alot of white froth which I am told is wort. I then added my yeast and sealed her up, at the time the fermentor was at around 25 or 26 degrees.

Now i've read about the airlock not bubbling and not to panic(mine wasn't bubbling but the water level changed when I pushed on the sides of the fermentor). So I left it and I started to get slight sediment at the bottom and that brown crust on the top, I today tested it with the hydrometer and got a reading of what I think is 1.080, if I read that correctly I should be practically ready to bottle, what worries me is we've had some hot 32 degree days and my fermentation fluctuated from around 25 - 30.

So what im really asking is will this affect my brew dramatically? Is it soon to bottle and start the second stage of fermentation? or should I just wait a couple of more days since this was the first hydrometer test.

Before I forget there is no more froth on the top of my beer.

Cheers hope I haven't double posted.