Bad Smell Coming From Fermenter? Yeast Or Infection?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grinder

Reaction score
G'day guys.
I put down an AG Pilsener last weekend and pitch a WLP802 yeast. I have never used this yeast before, but I am concerned about the stink coming from my fermenter.

I have used the Wyeast pilsener urquell yeast and I got alot of sulpher aroma from that one but this one different.

I can't quite put my finger on the smell. It is quite a sweet fragrance almost flowery maybe slightly buttery, like nothing I have ever smelt before. I used nothing but saaz hops for bittering and aroma, ( I don't know if that has anything to do with it).

Anyway, I got a bit concerned as it took a good 3 days for fermentation to begin after pitching the vial (I didn't make a starter) and I though that this smell may be due to an infection as a result of the lag time. Or is it just the yeast?

It seems to be fermenting quite well now at 10 degrees C in the brew fridge. I tasted it, and if you look past the aroma the wort seems to taste OK. Although, It is quite hard to taste it without the smell hitting you in the face.

Is this normal for this yeast strain? Will the smell eventually dissipate? Or does it sound like an infection?

All help appreciated.
Thanks
Grinder

G'day guys.
I put down an AG Pilsener last weekend and pitch a WLP802 yeast. I have never used this yeast before, but I am concerned about the stink coming from my fermenter.

I have used the Wyeast pilsener urquell yeast and I got alot of sulpher aroma from that one but this one different.

I can't quite put my finger on the smell. It is quite a sweet fragrance almost flowery maybe slightly buttery, like nothing I have ever smelt before. I used nothing but saaz hops for bittering and aroma, ( I don't know if that has anything to do with it).