Aromatic/biscuit Malt - Users/opinions Please

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bignath

"Grains don't grow up to be chips, son"
Reaction score
Hi all,

have been looking at specialty malts, and i love the sound of both aromatic and biscuit malts but i've never used them before.

Who's used either or both of these, and do you like what it adds to a recipe.
What quantities in a standardish 20/23 lt, 4/5kg grain bill would you typically use?

Going by description, both seem to add a strong malt presence but one seems to be darker than the other. I would like to get a stronger malt presence in a lager im experimenting with at the moment.

Opinions appreciated!

Cheers,

Nath

Haven't used aromatic but I am a big fan of good quality biscuit malt. A small amount brings a delicious nutty character to most brews.

I tend to aim for around 200-300g per 20-ish litre brew. Great for anything that needs a malty backbone. Once tried it in a standar aussie bitter and it was out of place.

Haven't used aromatic but I am a big fan of good quality biscuit malt. A small amount brings a delicious nutty character to most brews.

I tend to aim for around 200-300g per 20-ish litre brew. Great for anything that needs a malty backbone. Once tried it in a standar aussie bitter and it was out of place.

Thanks manticle, i thought i had previously read some posts regarding you liking biscuit malt.

Do you think biscuit malt would go ok with a generic aussie lager knock off?

Recipe i have been doing a bit of lately is:

3kg Pale Malt
500g Sugar
250g Carapils

POR to 25/30 IBU's

w34/70

mash 66 for 60.

I'm happy with this recipe (trying some late noble hop variety's for flavour/aroma) but the sound of a "bready biscuit" flavour sounds appealing to me. Just not sure if it would suit a clean aussie lager though.

Thanks,

Nath