Am I Infected

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

butters73

Reaction score
Hows it goin guys, I am a newbie just on to my sixth brew in 4 weeks(2 fermenters).4 days ago I bottled a castlemaine lager kit with 500g be2 and finsished with cluster hops to mimick a xxxx gold. Today i pick up a bottle and find there is a thin milky ring on top of the beer in the bottle, most bottles of this brew have this.My question is this just secondary fermentation or have i got problems? While I'me asking questions does anyone have a simple k&k recipe for a kilkenny clone (am thinking Morgans royal oak amber ale,1 kg caramalt and 500g ldme and fuggles hops)any help would be appreciated,thanks in advance. Cheers KINGO.

Hows it goin guys, I am a newbie just on to my sixth brew in 4 weeks(2 fermenters).4 days ago I bottled a castlemaine lager kit with 500g be2 and finsished with cluster hops to mimick a xxxx gold. Today i pick up a bottle and find there is a thin milky ring on top of the beer in the bottle, most bottles of this brew have this.My question is this just secondary fermentation or have i got problems? While I'me asking questions does anyone have a simple k&k recipe for a kilkenny clone (am thinking Morgans royal oak amber ale,1 kg caramalt and 500g ldme and fuggles hops)any help would be appreciated,thanks in advance. Cheers KINGO.

Gday mate, welcome to the forum.

I don't think it's infected - I hada ginger beer (coopers) which I made non0alcoholic, and it has the ring around the top. I am not sure what it is but I reckon it's yeast. It sure tastes fine. How does your brew taste? Probably to young to taste at this stage, but the best way to find out is smelling and tasting.