All Cascade Ipa Tips?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scrumpy

Reaction score
planning next weeks brew and have decided on a American IPA. My insperation is the Brew Dogz Punk IPA. I love the brilliant pale colour of this beer and the punch in the face hop profile.

I wanna use a simple malt bill. and aiming at a O.G 1.055 was thinking 100% Marris Otter, also gonna use 100% NZ Cascades for the hops.
This is my first attempt brewing with such a basic recipe.

would it be an idea maybe using 10 or so percent Wheat malt to aid head retention? How about using pilsner malt instead of the marris?
any ideas on a hop schedule? gonna aim at about 50 IBU's.

Has anybody brewed a beer like this if so how did it turn out?

I reckon you need some chinook in there if you want it something like punk ipa. As far as I can tell, the almost harsh bitterness comes from the chinook. Have a look here for some other ideas: http://www.brewdog.com/punk_ipa.php
Love that beer.

An American IPA is still balanced - although the balance is skewed towards the bitterness, it takes a good solid malty backbone to support the hops. Keep that in mind when you are devising your grain bill.

I don't think a straight Cascade would match Marris Otter. I would go the Pale malt with 5 to 10% Wheat, as you said to aid the head retention. Punch the figures in BeerSmith or what ever program you use to get the IBU correct, but I would keep it down a lot from 50IBU as you don't have a big malt backbone. Myself with this base malt, I would aim for 15 to 20IBU. Then ferment using something like a german lager yeast.

Actually this is starting to sound like the brew I did today, I'm aiming for a 4% abv beer but instead of Cascade I used Hallertauer and added in the 15IBU at 60mins.

QldKev