A Guide To All-grain Brewing In A Bag

BIAB has been a godsend in the way i have transitioned to AG, and I only started with kits late Jan this year.

I'm now moving into a more traditional mash tun setup but have lined the tun with the "bag" so that I dont need a manifold, just a drainage tap.

BIAB in itself is a 100% effective brewing technique for typical sized batches (20-25L) and it only cost me $100 to be fully BIAB operational.

The best thing about BIAB is the way in which it has evolved - no elitism, close-mindedness or negativity. It's all been about "let's see how this goes" and people have run with the idea, refined it along the way and turned it into a great brewing method.

congrats to all involved :party:

One thing about BIAB I'm pretty sure I haven't commented on to date was when I mentioned it to the HBS proprietor.

I said "guys on AHB are brewing in a bag" or "I want to start single vessel brewing" or something to that effect.

His reply was as if he had very well seen or heard of it being done before...like "oh, are they advocating it on there now?".

No amount of questioning could sway me from the obvious fact that he already knew about this method (or perhaps he was familiar with the bucket-in-bucket single-mash tun, as this isn't really so different).

Oh, and so far as I am aware, he very rarely gets on here.

Pointless dribble, I know :lol:

PZ.

edited - pretty sure he did use the word "advocating"...which I just supplemented for whatever I typed before...

The last few posts here have blown me away. Thirsty Boy's post has to be one of the most informative posts I have ever read and for me personally, certainly the most striking. Absolutely brilliant stuff. I'm going to have a few questions for you Thirsty when I have digested your info fully!

The extremely well-written feedback from hughman and Jimmy has also created an excellent start to the day. As always, thanks guys. Jimmy gave me a heap of positive feedback while writing the guide and hughmann was the first BIAB brewer in the west!

FInger, I'm thinking the LHBS guy probably thinks you are talking about the Brew in the Bag they sell in the states and Canada. This is an extract thing sold in a plastic bag where it is fermented. i.e. The 'bag' is a plastic bag. I don't know much about them except that it is not all-grain.

There was someone about 200 posts ago who has been brewing in the nylon bag for some time. I asked for some more feedback but he may not have seen my request. I'll try and find his post again when I have some time and then will PM him. Be great to hear from him.

A billion thanks for your top posts guys.

:beerbang:
Pat

I'm now moving into a more traditional mash tun setup but have lined the tun with the "bag" so that I dont need a manifold, just a drainage tap.
I like the sounds of that. I may do that myself

Pistol

My first brew was Aug this year. Did some kits and then an extract brew. I talked to Ross about ordering specialty grains and he pointed out that a BIAB was no harder that extract brewing so away I went.

I had about a litre left in the kettle at flame out which was a result of leaving the stuff deposited from the cold break. I figuered that I would lose very little during the mash with the lid on and just planned to do top up with boiling water while hopping to keep at 23L mark.

Perhaps with more agitation I could get better efficiency??

Deaves, I would have answered your question last night but was flat out writing stupid posts* most of which I ended up deleting this morning. I've been practicing drinking for the QLD Swap on Saturday :rolleyes:

I wouldn't worry at all about increasing efficiency until you have done several brews. I'd concentrate on recording your measurements accurately first and then you can be sure of your figures.

Some good things to record would be your mash volume, volume into kettle and its gravity, volume into fermenter, original gravity, top up water or left-over wort (if any) and what is left in your kettle (losses to trub etc). Also record your expected gravities.

When you post your efficiency here, try and specify what efficiency you mean. The easiest one to talk about is mash efficiency. For BIAB, this is simply the volume at the start of the boil and it's gravity.

Finally when you measure the volume at the start of the boil, multiply your figure by 0.95 as wort expands by 5% when boiling.

Can't believe your first brew was in August! Great stuff!

Pat

P.S. In my stupid posting last night, I mentioned that there were heaps of people here who have several BIABs up their sleeve and write a lot better and more efficiently than I do. Hopefully these guys will feel free to answer any questions here. I'm answering way too much and not always well!!! :wacko:

I'm limited to partial mashes by my (lack of) equipment, and have found this to be a great way of mashing.
I have a mid-sized (probably 15L) unmodified esky, and a nylon mesh bag that holds 2kg of grain quite happily. I mash the grain in this bag sitting in the esky, and can easily remove the grain all in one go when the mash water needs to go into the kettle, and put sparge water into the esky and put the grain back in.

This bag o' grain will quite happily sit in a colander that sits on top of the kettle when pouring another lot of sparge water through it.

I really have to organise a drain for this esky, though. Ever tried gently pouring 5L of hot wort out the top of a rectangular esky?

Biab Versus Batch Tasting Results

Have just posted the results here guys. I think all of you currentlyu BIAB will be pleased will be pleased and those considering it now have a little more confidence in the method.

In that post, I also mentioned I'd be asking ThirstyBoy what beers he thinks may be a problem with BIAB given the high water to grain ratio. Can't wait to hear what THirsty has to say!

Pat

I really have to organise a drain for this esky, though. Ever tried gently pouring 5L of hot wort out the top of a rectangular esky?

Oh wardhog! The joys of brewing!

I both agree and maybe a little disagree with you Post Modern. I'm not really sure which yet. Maybe neither?

Some musings on mash thickness and brewing processes.
<snip>
Thirsty

Fair commentary there, Thirsty Boy.

You've made me curious enough to want to try a BIAB beer. Even more curious to taste the same recipe, with adjustments if necessary, brewed side by side on both a 3 vessel and a BIAB. Not curious enough to try for myself tho ;)

If you want PoMO, I'll do a few bottles up from each keg for you. I'll be in Lane Cove for a few weeks around Xmas/New Year so if you are driving past, let me know, otherwise I can post them to you. I think I owe you a beer or two ;)

Just send me a PM if you're keen.

Pat

Well after talking with a few of you at the swap on the weekend I could not wait to get cracking and get a brew on. :beerbang:
So no more mucking around looking for excuses not to use the brew stand thats not quite finished :ph34r:

I have just dropped my bag in , with Batz's Kin Kin Ale. thanks Batz .

A few "g" clamps to hold the mill in place. I've still got to finish my little Jib crane for the bag lifting but I'm feeling strong today so I'm in bussines.

All going well I'l do another tomorrow...

MMMm the smell of malt is wafting around the river....... :chug:

Brewers Choice have some Mini Mash recipes on there web site where they use a grain bag in an esky. Can anyone suggest why this method would not work with a full grain bill?

Can't wait to hear how the Kin Kin Ale goes with the Nottingham Bunyip. As you are brewing this in Far North Queensland instead of at its home brewery, The Bat Cave, I suggest you call the beer, Far Kin Ale. Batz would be pleased.

Deaves: I think the answer depends on whether you mean a 'bag' or a 'liner.' I think grain in a tight bag in an esky (or anything for that matter) will give you problems when talking about a full grain bill. With BIAB, the bag is really a liner so the grain is not packed in at all. A little agitation and the grain disperses through the full volume of water and this is how you get the equivalent of sparging (rinsing).

As long as your bag acts as a liner, it doesn't matter whether you use an esky or just have it in the kettle.

The only advantages of using an esky that I can see however are if you want to do 2 brews in one day (hence you can save 1 x your mash time) or if you wished to brew a beer that required decoction mashing of which I know nothing about.* Using an esky just for the insulation properties is otherwise unnecessary as a short burst of heat can easily be applied (in fact, a hell of a lot easier than applying it in an esky) should your mash temp drop. The esky really just creates a lot more complications in transferring wort and cleaning.

*Step mashing can still be done with BIAB though from what I've heard, step-mashing is rarely necessary these days due to great improvements in the malting process.

Hope that answers your question mate but if I have totally missed then post back here and someone else will be able to give you an answer because...

I'm Banning Myself From Further Answers Here For A Bit

I'm heading off to Perth via Sydney over the next 3 weeks or so. Obviously I have a fair bit to get organised. i.e. Can I get all my brewing gear in my van? Is there any other important stuff I shouldn't let the removalists take such as basic clothing etc? ;)

So, I'm banning myself from answering any questions here until I get settled in Perth.

As mentioned before, there are a lot of guys on this thread here that can answer anyone's questions in a lot less bandwidth than I can - :blink: . In fact, the thread will be very well-served with other people's answers and suggestions as mine are based, as the song says, 'soley on my own meandering experience.' lol.

Once settled in Perth, I'll look forward to not only finishing but re-writing the BIAB booklet, something I've been meaning to do for quite some time. Hughman666 reckons he has a fridge full of BIABs waiting for me. I just hope he has a bloody big fridge!

;)
Pat

safe travels Pat .. :)

lets all prey for the hitch hikers now .. ;)

I'm sure that this thred will grow , I'm hoping someone moves on the wiki thing soon as I think that is where alot of this should end up. Unfortunatly I don't have the brain cells left to do such a task but from some of the work that has been done here already I'm confident that it will happen ..;)

Thanks for your help Pat.

Ive got my first BIAB chilling and will bottle this weekend. It tastes great out of the fermenter so I know I've got a good-un. I will leave the esky alone for the time being. My trouble is i have a large workshop and love to tinker...

Hughman666 reckons he has a fridge full of BIABs waiting for me. I just hope he has a bloody big fridge!

;)
Pat

gotta say that due to 2 work conferences recently, one in hayman island and one at cable beach, i haven't had time to brew and my fridge is looking, well - empty :(

needless to say i have an ipa ready to keg tomorrow, a kolsch goind down this saturday and a wit going down next saturday. i'm getting a 3rd keg for xmas so stocks will be charged

pat, hope you're ready :chug:

Alright guys im almost ready to try my first BIAB and pretty much close to having everything for a full AG to after today. I got lots of toys.

1 problem, i went to lincraft and they dont have voile ivory. I asked the chick at the counter and explained what it was for and she sudgested muslin. I no that people have used it for hops but will that be ok for making a grain bag for BIAB?

Also I rummaged through the garage today looking for what I thought was a 2 ring burner I had from camping. Turns out its only a single ring...well it has two rings of flames but only from 1 ring...will this work ok for 23l batches?

Pics of burner....

closerup.jpg

closeup.jpg

finite good on ya, I can't help with if the muslin will work out ok or not but it might be a bit weak. Sew it up very well with lots of stitching so it dosen't tear when you lift it out. The swiss vollie is strong and dosen't tear...

As for your burner give it a go it might just take a bit longer but it should get you over the line eventualy..

Give it all a run and report back .

Good luck you'll love the results ..

I'm doing my third for the week this arvo..

I had same problem, ended up using pollyester and it works fine. Its easier to work with and I'm told its rated to 200C.

Try filling the kettle with the same amount of water you will be using, and see if you can get it to a rolling boil. Then use the water again for other things!