A Few Newbie Questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lopeman

Reaction score
Hey guys, first of great site you have here!!!

I'm pretty new to the home brew world, fairly typical set up, coopers kit and very little knoledge but alot of eagerness. . .

SO a few questions. . . . i have a bench capper, does that mean that i can use pretty much any kind of bottle, stubbie, l/neck, vb stubbie etc, or are some bottles stronget than others. i know that the brown ones are the way to go in terms of light and stuff.

Whats an average price for second hand bottles?

also, the hydrometer and the temp guage in the coopers kit, are they accurate or should i purchase some better ones?

thanks guys

Hi lopeman, welcome to the exciting world of homebrewing.

The bench capper will cap any of the bottle types you mention, both roll tops and screw tops..
Most of the modern screw top bottles are made of relatively thin glass, but still do the job well.

The absolute best bottles are the Coopers longnecks. They are a roll top, and of heavy guage glass.
Probably the next best are the heavier gauge litre bottles, such as Grolsch swing tops, English ale bottles, German weiss bottles etc.

I don't know about prices for bottles, I've never paid for any. I use bottles from my own consumption and what's been donated to me. Most of mine are recycled from the bins at my golfclub!

The hydrometer in the Coopers kit will be fine. The thermometer is one of those stick on ones? If so, they are OK and close enough for what you need as you start out.

The best advice is to read the stickies on this site on the basics of starting brewing etc and how to get the best from or improve on kit brews.

I'm pretty new to the home brew world, fairly typical set up, coopers kit and very little knoledge but alot of eagerness. . .